Without our funding agencies, sponsors, volunteers, suppliers and donations we could not have made Sound Symposium into the successful and influential organization it has become in new music, sound art, performing arts and education over the past thirty years.

We would like to thank the following organizations for their continued support of Sound Symposium and the work we do.


The Government of Canada Department of Canadian Heritage.
– Canada Arts Presentation Fund

The Canada Council for the Arts.
– Sustaining Funding: Music Section
– Music Section (Travel and/or Touring support)

Russell Hartenberger
The Instruments of Happiness Electric Guitar Quartet.
Turkwaz: Maryem Tollar, Sophia Grigoriadis, Jayne Brown, Ernie Tollar.
Gabriel Dharmoo.
James Hurley.
Ken Shorley.
Heidi Kalyani.
Laurel MacDonald.
Casey Sokol.
Parmela Attariwala.
Shawn Mativetsky.

– Media Arts Section (Travel support)

Sarah Butterfield & Donna Lytle

– Dance Section (Travel support)
Julia Aplin    

We acknowledge the support of the Canada Council for the Arts, which last year invested $153 million to bring the arts to Canadians throughout the country.

Nous remercions le Conseil des arts du Canada de son soutien. L’an dernier, le Conseil  a investi 153 millions de dollars pour mettre de l’art dans la vie des Canadiennes et des Canadiens de tout le pays.

The Government of Newfoundland & Labrador:  ArtsNL

– Sustaining Funding to Sound Symposium.
– Project or individual artist funding:

Andrew Noseworthy.
The St. John’s New Music Collective.
AE Bridger.

We acknowledge the support of ArtsNL, which last year invested $2.5 million to foster and promote the creation and enjoyment of the arts for the benefit of all Newfoundlanders and Labradorians.

The City of St. John’s
SOCAN Foundation
The Mike Zagorski Family
Sunco Insurance Limited


Southeast Asia Center, University of Washington, USA:
Travel from West Java, to Seattle, Acadia University and Newfoundland for Ade Suparman and Nurrika

Tombolo Multicultural Festival
Participation of Zimbamoto

Lamar University: the College of Fine Arts and Communications, and the Mary Morgan Moore Department of Music, Beaumont, Texas:
Participation of Timothy Dueppen

Stanford University’s Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics (CCRMA):
Participation of Fernando Lopez-Lezcano, Chris Chafe and John Granzow

The Quebec Cultural Ministries
Participation of James O’Callaghan

Stray Light Media
Memorial University School of Music
MMmap (Research Centre for the Study of Music, Media and Place)
IICSI: International Institute for Critical Studies in Improvisation
Acadia University
The Ship Pub
Eastern Edge Gallery
St. Michael’s Printshop
The Arts and Culture Centre
Neighbourhood Dance Works
Canadian Coast Guard
The Port of St. John’s
Long & McQuade

… and SOUND SYMPOSIUM’S wonderful billets who are hosting over 50 visiting artists.